Umeå University, Department of Odontology

Umeå university, faculty of odontology

Umeå university, faculty of odontology

The Department of Odontology operates in buildings located in Norrland§s University Hospital (NUS) and "landstingshuset" (dental technician programme). The department offers basic education, separate courses for continued education, and postgraduate research studies in odontology.

Basic educations given at the department are the dentistry, the dental hygiene, and the dental technician programme. The dental nurse programme is offered in cooperation with Umeå municipality. The students' clinical education is performed in cooperation with Västerbotten county council.

The research units at the department includes Cariology, Endodontics, Clinical Oral Physiology, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Dental Materials Science, Oral Cell Biology, Dental Hygienist Education, Oral Microbiology, Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology, Oral Diagnostics, Orthodontics, Periodontology, Pedodontics, and Prosthetic Dentistry.

Contact Information


Medicinska fakultetens kansli
Förvaltningshuset "Tornet", plan 7
901 87 Umeå

+46 (0)90-786 76 60